Rydal Penrhos Community
Rugby: RP stars gear up for Cooper Cup second leg against Colwyn Bay

Rugby: RP stars gear up for Cooper Cup second leg against Colwyn Bay

Aspiring Preparatory School rugby stars are in the final stages of preparation ahead of the Cooper Cup second leg this weekend.

Rydal Penrhos’ U11, 10, 9 and 8 sides welcome Colwyn Bay Rugby Club on Saturday, March 23 for a series of fixtures that will determine the overall victor of the competition.

The school, who are looking to retain the crown for the fifth consecutive year, got their defence off to a great start in the first leg, securing a 3-1 aggregate advantage.

This means that one win would see Rydal Penrhos retain the trophy, with two giving them victory.

The Prep School’s U8 squad got the visitors off to a flyer with a hard-fought 7-5 win against their Bay counterparts, and the U9 team doubled their aggregate cushion with a narrow 5-4 triumph following a thoroughly entertaining affair.

This was followed by an outstanding performance from the U10 squad, who produced some scintillating attacking rugby to emerge with a 50-28 success and see their lead for the day increase further.

They were unable to complete a clean sweep despite a sterling effort from the U11 squad, who were narrowly beaten 33-28.

The cup has been named after Ken Cooper, who was a master at the Senior School for many years but also played for and was President of the club.

U11 squad:  Gabe Donohue, William Hibbert, Ellis Lister-Brookes, Cieran Milligan, Zack Coverley, Theo Roberts, Louis Walkden-Williams, William McLaughlin, Freddie Barrington-Chance.

U10 squad: Dominic Chamberlain, William Glanville, Archie Jeeves, Izhran Shah, Nathan Richards, Rafe Tunstall, Cameron Pye, Rupert Barrington-Chance, Clarence Chasteau.

U9 squad: Shane Ayeni, William Cheesley, James Davies, Felix Griffin, William Northam, Harry Nurse, Noah Roberts, George Rozek, Jorvan Toor, Grayson Williams.

U8 squad: Finlay Brown, Jensen Hodgson-Roberts, Oscar Jewsbury, Charlie Lister-Brookes, Tomas Milligan, Xavier Poynton, Harrison Simmons.


Share this story