Rydal Penrhos Community
Outstanding athletic talent showcased at annual Sports Day

Outstanding athletic talent showcased at annual Sports Day

Talented athletes at Rydal Penrhos battled it out for bragging rights at the school’s annual Sports Day.

The event, which took place on Friday, May 18, took place at New Field and rounded off a fantastic day that also featured Pre-Prep and Prep events at the same venue for the first time.

There were a host of individual awards presented following a superb series of events, with Year 7 pupil Kosi Iwobi taking home the Michael S James Junior Boys’ Victor Ludorum Cup after triumphing in both the discus and shot putt events.

The outstanding Melissa Vos was the winner of the Junior Girls’ Victrix Ludorum Cup after a consistent effort, while Sydney Johnson successfully retained her Intermediate Girls’ Victrix Ludorum Cup accolade.

Zach Speakman was one of the brightest performers on the day, taking home the Michael S James Intermediate Boys’ Victor Ludorum Cup, while also scooping the       Rigg Trophy for Boys' Rydal Penrhos Mile.

Another big winner was Upper Sixth Form pupil Elinor Davies, who shared the Senior Girls’ Victrix Ludorum Shield with Louise Weis, and also won the McKinnon Salver for Best 100 metre time after continuing her fine tradition of success in the girls’ race.

Head Boy Alex Benfield was the proud recipient of the Senior Boys’ Victor Ludorum Cup, and speedster Sean Hughes got his hands on the Diamond Cup after a blistering performance in the 100m.

The outstanding endurance of Elan Watkin-Jones saw her come away with the Merrywing Shield after being the first girl across the line in the Rydal Penrhos mile, while Osborn house won the Inter-House Relay Shield.

A number of long-standing records also fell, with Zach breaking the record for the Intermediate Boys’ Rydal Penrhos Mile in fine fashion, Elan smashed the girls’ mile record and Year 7 pupil Laurence Richardson broke the junior javelin record by nearly four metres.

After a highly competitive day of action, Wesley House were crowned overall winners of the competition, which will stand them in good stead as they look to retain the Yeung Bowl House Cup.

A full gallery of images can be found here

Share this story